DISCLAIMER: I do not promote or advocate irresponsible underage drinking. This post is intended for 21+ college students, and underage students who decide to partake in drinking at some point in their college career. (If you’re gonna do, might as well go into it prepared!)
Alright, so now that that’s out of the way…
Let’s be honest… college is usually that time of our lives where the world of parties and alcohol is exposed to us more than it ever has been before. Many of us will take the “dry” route, choosing alternative nights out but I encourage everyone to at least have a bit of knowledge in regards to what a Celiac can or cannot drink when it comes to alcohol… just in case.
Here’s a list of popular alcoholic beverages that are Celiac “safe” (of course, in responsible moderation)
Tequila: *Real tequila is made from a Blue Agave plant and is part of the lilly family of plants.
Rum: *Most rums are made from sugar cane.
-Captain Morgan Spiced Rum
Whiskey: *Most whiskeys are naturally gluten free because of their distilling process.
Wine & Champagne: *Nearly all are gfree since they are made from grapes. Wine coolers may not be gfree since they often contain barley malt.
Gluten Free Beer: *Most beers are made with barley, wheat, or rye so they most definitely contain gluten. Fortunately, there is a growing list of gluten free beer that have been approved (and even raved about) by non gluten free-ers. Gluten free beer uses two substitute grain plaints: sorghum and buckwheat.
Drink responsibly, folks. I love you too much for you to be stupid when gettin’ yo’ drink on.