Fitness

Because I’d Want to Win the Hunger Games

…and other reasons why I run.

On Monday I ran 6.4 miles in 60 minutes. Not a big deal to some but a big deal to me. You see, I wouldn’t have been physically capable of running even two miles a year and a half ago. That’s just one of those [not] fun things about having Celiac Disease- your muscles and endurance just don’t develop as long as you are still eating gluten. I played soccer from when I was about 8 to around freshman year of high school so I moved on from that phase of life before I could discover how I could play post-gluten free but I’ll tell you something- I would be about 500 times better at soccer now that I can actually run. No matter how “in shape” I’d be, my malnourished body just couldn’t be physically pushed, making me.. ehm, not the best soccer player. But hey! Look at me now. Look at me now. I’m gettin’ paperrr. Well maybe not paper, more like “gettin’ fit”. And holy cannoli, does that feel good.

Running is literally the most exhilarating thing I’ve ever done. So much so that sometimes I even get teary eyed while running because it’s such a blessing for me to finally feel strong. If you haven’t joined in on the running bandwagon yet, maybe I can convince you to hop on.

Why Do I Run? 

Because I become Oscar the Grouch when I don’t 

Because I’d want to win the Hunger Games.

Because I like pretend-racing that boy on the treadmill next to me… and winning. 

Because I like having an excuse to go splurge on cute workout gear

Because It’s prime time to create pretend conversations with people in my head. Come on, you know you all do it too. Oh, only me? Never mind… 

Because It’s a break from homework, cleaning, and otherwise dumb things that have to happen in life. 

Because I’m convinced that guys who run are the best kind

Because I know that someday soon, I will have “hottie” abs and the slight muffin living above my belt will disappear.

Because I will survive the zombie apocalypse 

Because protein shakes actually taste like milkshakes and I feel weird drinking them without working out

Because It’s cooler than not running. 

Standard

One thought on “Because I’d Want to Win the Hunger Games

  1. That list of “Why Do I Run?” had me grinning from ear to ear! I love running and recently turned gluten free due to thyroid issues. I love your blog and love your attitude on life. Keep up the good posts.

    Warm regards,
    Kelsey Jane

Leave a Reply

