Review

Raising the Bar; Enjoy Life Food’s Chewy Bars

With a class/work study/gym schedule that has me going from 10 am to 6 pm every day, I all too often find myself with a grumbling tummy when my 4-6 pm Foundations of Communications class rolls along. Every time the same inner monologue happens: “Julie, why did you not take the two seconds to throw a snack in your backpack before leaving today?!” “I don’t know! There wasn’t anything convenient enough to bring!” “Well now look at the state of you- you really should have brought a snack.” On and on, you get the idea. It’s once of my less-fun inner monologues.

Lucky for me and my inner voice, my friends at Enjoy Life Foods sent me some of their Chewy Bars to try out! They are all under 120 calories per bar and as with other Enjoy Life Food products, they are kosher, vegan, free of artificial ingredients, and casein free. They are perfect for when I need that quick pick-me-up but don’t want anything too heavy before a meal. Plus, they are small and discrete for snacking mid-class; bonus!

The four flavors they currently offer include (pictured in order clockwise): “Cocoa Loco”, “Sunbutter Crunch”, “Caramel Apple”, and “Very Berry”.

“Cocoa Loco” is my favorite out of the four. Super chewy and chocolatey, it tastes like a straight-up brownie, at about a third of the calories a real brownie at this size would be. Delish!

“Sunbutter Crunch” is great for those who are sunflower seed lovers. This bar has kind of a peanut-buttery texture/taste, but is, of course, made with sunflower seed butter, so I’m sure peanut butter lovers will love this one as well! 

“Very Berry” doesn’t have as strong of a berry flavor as I’d like, but in similarity to the caramel apple flavor, the slight berry taste comes out in the end, so if you don’t want anything too sweet, then I would recommend it! After all, the base flavor of the bar combined with the chewy texture makes the bar still quite enjoyable. 

“Caramel Apple” is simple and delicious with a subtle, but noticeable apple-carmel flavor. When the caramel flavor really comes out in the immediate aftertaste, it really tastes like a true caramel apple, without all the mess!

Overall, I highly recommend Enjoy Life Food‘s Chewy Bars! I know what with all this running about school, I will be stocking up on some myself!


Standard

Leave a Reply

