Review

City O’ City, Denver CO {Restaurant Review}

Image

The end of the school year is nearing and between the stresses of moving out, studying for final exams, and choir concert rehearsals, it has become important to remember to cherish these last few days we all have to spend together. Sure, we are only sophomores, but we will all be studying abroad in our various international locations next year meaning we won’t all be together as a group of friends until we are seniors. Yikes.

My friends Shannon, Brianna, and I will be sharing a storage unit over the summer and into the 2012/2013 school year so we got together for brunch to finalize the details. I might mention that we spent about 5 minutes going over storage unit details and the rest of the time simply enjoying brunch… just the way it should be 🙂

City O’ City is a cafe, bar, and restaurant located in the stately and hipster-filled Capitol Hill area of Denver. They offer oodles of vegetarian, vegan, and gluten free menu options along with focusing on fresh, local ingredients-my kind of place! At first I decided that I was going to order the oatmeal (marked as gluten free) that came with fresh fruit, brown sugar, and almond milk. However, when I asked the slightly aloof waitress if the oats were certified gluten free, she seemed surprised to hear that oats aren’t always automatically gluten free. She went to check with the manager, and came back to tell me that they cannot confirm that the oats are gluten free which to me, translates as NO, the oats are not gluten free. Bummer, since they mark the oatmeal as “gluten free”…they might want to check up on that.

Despite this, it might have been a good thing that I was unable to order the oatmeal because my alternative choice ended up being absolutely amazing! I ordered the Savory Waffle, which is basically a non-sweet waffle base, topped with a seasonal vegetable ragu and melted fondue cheese. The waffle itself was cooked to perfection, slightly crispy on the outside and soft and fluffy on the inside-thick too! There aren’t any waffles served at City O’ City that have gluten, so you can rest assured that the waffle iron is completely gluten free. Bonus points on that! The vegetables on top were fresh, plump tomatos, soft butternut squash, and tender carrots plus more vegetables that I couldn’t quite put my finger on. I heard from someone that the vegetables come from the owner’s own garden- I wouldn’t doubt it after tasting the freshness of them! The cheese was fabulous and I could seriously eat it all day.

The waffle-vegetable-cheese combination may sound bizarre but please just try it if you get the chance. When my friends tasted it (they loved it), they related the taste to healthy pizza or an open faced lasagna. I know, I know, it sounds weird when you can’t get the image of a sweet, breakfast waffle out of your head. But just trust me.

City O’ City is open until 2 am every day and they offer tons of gluten free desserts along with coffee so you can bet that I will be hitting that place up often when I’m back from Italy next year!

Standard

One thought on “City O’ City, Denver CO {Restaurant Review}

  1. Shannon says:

    Their breakfast burritos are super yummy too!! We couldn’t remember if they had been listed as being gluten free though…

Leave a Reply

