Daily Life

In Which I Bear Many Fruits (and Vegetables)

veganhaul

Well, folks: Tomorrow is the big day… I’m getting married to Josh Hutcherson.

Haha, psych. You believed me though, yes?

Due to an idea that I will probably regret immediately, I will be starting the vegan chapter of my life tomorrow for the entire month of April. And by vegan I just mean no meat, no dairy, and a main focus on vegetable and fruit centered meals. Just as we celiacs know that being gluten free doesn’t necessarily mean being healthy since you can still technically gorge on Snickers candy bars, being vegan doesn’t have to even be a healthy initiative, especially if I were eating pounds of dark chocolate or entire bags of potato chips. However, my purpose is to improve my own health while doing my part for the environment and my animal friends.

I can’t go into this thing unarmed, of course, so here’s what I’ve stocked my kitchen with:

Almond milk, Coconut water, Coconut oil, Basmati Rice, Quinoa, GF oatmeal, Frozen berries, Bananas, Mangos, Spinach, Broccoli, Strawberries, Oranges, Grapefruit, Sweet Potato, Bell pepper, Apples, Blackberries, Avocado, and because I am of the female sort, Justin’s Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups and a Peanut Dark Chocolate bar. Listen, I might have a mental breakdown within the first 24 hours of this if I don’t have at least the prospect of getting chocolate.

I thought about getting those uber-Vegan snacks like kale chips and coconut macaroons but they were, like, $8 for a teeny package at Whole Foods. Ain’t nobody got money for that. Especially me, considering my nasty Topshop addition and the “need” to get at least one cappuccino every day.

Any suggestions from you vegans out there as to what goodies I should get?

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

